is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

And Then!

And Then!

I watched the presidential debates with a political scientist. This made things more interesting, not only because his reactive facial expressions and moments of enunciated displeasure were more frequent than mine. He was able to point out many more of the factual inconsistencies voiced by the candidates than I was. Also, the first thing he said to me when I got to his house was, "Do you want some wine? Or ice cream?"

I had wine AND ice cream. At the same time.

And then! Friday nothing went according to plan, so I missed the train in Wassaic because of a slow old man and had to wait 1.5 hours for the next train. It was cold and I had only a thin sweater. The only thing I had with me to read was HLA Hart's The Concept of Law, which isn't exactly the kind of book that takes your mind off being cold. Then they were working on the tracks on the Harlem line so I was even later than late. By the time I got to Linda and Marian's I had decided I didn't want to go out at all. I bought a six-pack of beer and Marian and I sat around. I painted my toenails, she dyed her hair, and we watched Pimp My Ride and a bunch of TiVo'd John Stewart Daily shows that Linda had stored up for me.

O.M.G.! Have you seen this show, Pimp My Ride? Xzibit, whose name, you can see, has an X and a Z in it, takes someone's old crappy car and makes it into a totally styled out pimp mobile. A girl with a trans am held together by duct tape got back a car with an espresso machine and a chandelier in it, among other things. Anyway, it is a very silly show, but the perfect accompaniment to an evening of beauty supplies and beer. Oh. We also watched Dr. Vegas, the new show starring Rob Lowe. I don't think this one's going to make it for him either, even though it also stars Joe Pantoliano and the hot statutory rapist girl from Everwood (a show with a very odd series of plots, if ever there was one).

And then! Saturday I woke up early to go to the panel Eggers was on in the New Yorker Festival, a panel on Literature and Politics. It was a good discussion. A few dull patches but overall very interesting and engaging. For the most part it also avoided unproductive debate, which was refreshing. I got to see Marny and Vendela there.

Then I had lunch with Dave, and joined him for his afternoon of errands. I watched him sign some books. We ate some more food. I met Julian Schnabel. Then I left him with Schnabel and went back to Linda and Marian's and took a very delicious nap. Then the three of us went out for Indian food, and then Gayle, who was in town for a conference, came over and finished the beer with us. Now I am on a train to Wassaic, where I left my car, so it would be closer to Claverack, where I am headed for the christening of August, son of Adam and Kate.

10:32 a.m. - October 03, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me