is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

And then! Since last time.

And then! Since last time.

I had a great time in San Francisco. Before I left Amherst for San Francisco, ten days sounded like it would be a long time, but it went by really quickly. It was good to be able to say when I left San Francisco for Amherst that I would be back in roughly two weeks, and this time it would be for over a month.

I just dropped off my film for developing, so maybe some good party shots will follow. Below you'll witness some polaroids from Karaoke-Night-Before-Thanksgiving.

On Thanksgiving my sister came and picked me up and we drove out to Benicia to overeat with my mom. We all contributed to the cooking and then stuffed ourselves and collapsed on the couches for a few hours. You know, Thanksgiving. About an hour later we ate more, to the tune of pumpkin pie with chocolate crust. Then I talked my mom into letting me borrow her SUV. In it I drove into Oakland where I picked up Gibbs Chapman from his familial feast and we went to the yearly extended orphanage meal in SF and hung out with Halliday, Steve Dye, Claira, Amy B, Alissa and Aaron, the whole crew. It made me happy to be able to keep this by now age-old tradition of mine of many-families-Thanksgiving. And it amused me that Gibbs Chapman and I were driving around in a HUGE SUV. I ate more. Then I left and went on to Sunshine's house, where she, Leisa, Caroleen, Jeff and Cash (foxy Leisa's 10 year old son, and MY FRIEND) were recovering from their eating. Cash was making an incredibly cute but, as he described it, ragged sock monkey. I ate more. I tried to watch the movie The Saddest Music In The World with Jeff and Caroleen. It confused me with its oddness but not in a bad way. But then I kept doing that nodding almost sleeping thing so I jumped back into the SUV and drove to my apartment. Slept. Woke up. Drove to my mom's. Then my sister drove me to my dad's. We all ate a diner lunch. And then! Dad and I made the amazing yummy greek Christmas cookies. And then! I took the ferry back to San Francisco. And then!

Friday night Caroleen and I went to see Finding Neverland, and we both thought it was very sweet. And of course there was Johnny Depp. That JD is so good at playing imperfect people who are human and so sympathetic and who you can't help but like because of instead of despite their imperfections.

The next night Caroleen and I decided we wanted to watch the shit out of some crap. So she called me from the movie store with choices like Legally Blonde 2 and Van Helsing. There were some other choices offered up but those are the two I remember. I opted for Van Helsing in part because Cash spent so much time describing to me why I would and would not like the movie. He was right. The monsters were good and it wasn't very scary and it was also very silly. This was all made better by the fact that I forgot to tell Caroleen that my DVD player is in Amherst, so she showed up with a DVD and we ended up watching it on my ibook. Luckily we figured out how to hook it up to my stereo so at least it was loud enough to hear. But it was kind of funny having stereo sound for a tiny tiny movie. As far as I could tell some of the shots were really visually beautiful. Caroleen said, "So many of these shots are like comic book shots. [pause.] Because that's how they do comic books. They shoot them with movie cameras." Along with Van Helsing we had champagne, Cheez-its and Greek xmas cookies.

The night before Thanksgiving I went a-karaoke-ing with Caroleen, Evany, Marco, Tom, Sunny and Leisa. Caroleen sang Lovin' Touchin' Squeezin'! It was good. Here are some photos. Of me and Caroleen.

And of Sunny, Leisa and I.

And of Evany standing on a chair to see the woman singing I Like Big Butts. No Lie. She sang it. She nailed it, down to the My anaconda don't want none if you don't got buns, hon. Evany stood on a chair but the ceiling was too low so she had to bend her head dramatically to the side. As you can see. It was worth it to see that particular performance. This photo also proves that Evany still exists, given HOW LONG IT HAS BEEN SINCE SHE HAS UPDATED HER SITE. (Love, Jill)

10:01 p.m. - November 30, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me