is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

GETTING MARRIED!, San Jose, and other terrifying rides.

GETTING MARRIED!, San Jose, and other terrifying rides.

The movers are coming on Wednesday to get my stuff. Boxes abound. Hans Blix (the cat, not the U.N. weapons inspector) is frizzeaking izzout. But, more importantly, CAROLEEN IS GETTING MARRIED.

I just got back from a bachelorette-party weekend in the exceedingly exotic locale some call San Jose, CA. Let me tell you, it is really very far away from San Francisco, even though it only takes an hour to drive there. So� why would a well-heeled group such as that made by Jill, Evany, Liz, Sunny and Caroleen choose San Jose? Because Caroleen likes pools and rides! So we stayed at a nice hotel in San Jose where there is a rooftop pool and hot tub with drink service. That took care of the pool-need. For rides we went to GREAT AMERICA. The weather was hothothot, the pool was surrounded by lounge chairs, and the hotel was surrounded by restaurants and shops. And we felt like strangers in a strange land whenever we walked around. Vacation.

Throughout the weekend, we constantly informed everyone around us that CAROLEEN IS GETTING MARRIED. Evany could often be found screaming it on the roller coasters. Liz would usually say it when she was pouring champagne. On Sunday when a waitress asked us if we had any questions, I said, �Yes. Did you know that Caroleen is getting married?� Etc. Caroleen is getting married!

That is how it came to pass that on Saturday I rode five roller coasters in six hours and then split six bottles of champagne amongst five people. And that was just on Saturday. We really drank a lot of champagne this weekend. We had Piper Heidsieck and Moet & Chandon White Star and Veuve Clicquot. There were others. On Friday we mixed it up a bit with Prosecco. We walked around the strange Las-Vegas-like unreal-thing called Santana Row, and ate yummy meals followed by yummier desserts. We avoided the pick-up joints and the rave music. And we lounged around by the pool and jumped up and down on the beds and sang songs and had a lot of fun.

But, get this. In the midst of all this madness my sister called me on my cellphone to tell me that SHE IS GETTING MARRIED. Sweet news! I always knew she would get married before me (um, you know, if I ever get married), I just didn�t think it would take this long for it to happen! (ha.) Apparently she has some bling-er on her finger, too. I am kneedeep in nuptials.

Tomorrow I will write up my assessment of the rollercoasters, including the utterly terrifying thing called Invertigo, and also the roller coaster that you ride standing up. Last night I tried to describe Invertigo to Marco and actually became terrified again, just from trying to describe it! But right now I am tired because I have been packing all day, and lifting things, and moving things, and organizing things, and then I had dinner with my mom at a brewery in Berkeley where I consumed some yummy wheat beer that has slowed. me. down.

12:00 a.m. - August 09, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me