is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

adventures on public transit.

adventures on public transit.

the adventure is underway! so far I've taken a train from haverford to philly, then another train from philly to trenton, then another train from trenton to newark, and now I'm on the airtrain monorail in a bizarre little compartment by myself. I think I'm starring in gattaca right now. then it's jet blue to san juan. I get in at 3 freaking 15am. my beloved friend jeff (pothead without pot) told me, when I was buying this ticket, that he and caroleen were arriving at 7:30am, so I figured I could wait for them for 4 hours for the drive across the island to rincon.

turns out, 7:30 is when they're LEAVING new york, so they don't get in until noon. after a short round of freakout last night, I decided to buy an airport hotel room for my nine hour wait. historically, I can't sleep on airplanes anyway. not even 14 hour flights. so I don't think I'll be sleeping tonight. if we were to add nine hours of puerto rican airport waiting time to the train-train-train-monorail airport-waiting flying night adventure (new! with infants!), Jill might LHS! (lose. her. shit. in ways metaphorical, mind you.) luckily there is a reasonable best western right there at the airport. perhaps this mishap in planning will end up rendering me the most rather than the least fit to drive the three hours to rincon.

I'm now at the jet blue waiting area and apparently there will be many, many, MANY infants and children on this flight. I am currently feeling very thankful for best western. and earplugs.

so that's the adventure. train train train monorail waiting flying waiting hotel-sleeping waking meeting driving, and then RINCON.

it's even more exciting, this adventure, on the way home, because on this trip I will use four different airports, just to keep everyone, including myself, GUESSING. the way home includes driving waiting flying bus train train train.

sure, it IS possible to get to puerto rico from philly rather than from newark or jfk. it just costs a LOT more. now that I'm best-westerning it's probably a wash, but I never would have bought a ticket at the rates from philly. jet blue had a special with $59 flights!

ok. posting from sidekick now!

ps-- there's a guy across the row from me in the waiting area furiously typing into a sidekick. yes, it looks ridiculous. but he and I, we don't care!

9:30 p.m. - February 07, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me