is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Small Huge World.

Small Huge World.

I love it when things work out like this. Heidi is in London for work. John Vanderslice is there on tour (opening for Death Cab For Cutie), with an added show in a small club two blocks from Heidi�s hotel. Keep in mind that Heidi is not so knowledgeable about music, for instance she can�t always tell the difference between the Rolling Stones and the Beatles. Or between Prince and Duran Duran. I am not kidding and I love her anyways. So I suggest to her that maybe she wants to go see his show? Why not? She is in London! And she goes. And she loves it! And she sends me 7 text messages describing why she loves it (like �holy god these guys rock!� and �he is terribly magnetic in an intimate way, from the stage� and then the inevitable �I just introduced myself. He told me not to leave but I feel like a bad groupie,� ha, and etc., and then the extra sweet, �it was a great show, but I don�t want to go to rock shows without you. it feels weird and wrong,� aw), and then reports back to me in more detail over IM later (stage anecdotes, wardrobe commentary). For someone who doesn�t know music, she does know rock clubs and band watching, because she�s been with ME all these years, ha. And then JV emails me and says thanks for sending her to the show. And I�m jealous because I love London and I�ve never seen him play or met him before but there Heidi is all up in the small club in Soho. Ha, the world is small! And also huge. And I�m glad because the text messaging and IMing made my looong night of figuring out how to teach a really hard essay to some students on Tuesday more interesting.

Also, she really loved one of the songs, and remembered many things about it, including that it was about a bunny, and a boyfriend, and it was precisely the song I listened to three times on the way home from the airport yesterday. More small huge world. (You can hear it here. It will start playing when the page loads.) I also like how the song about the bunny is sandwiched, on the album, between two deadly sad and serious songs. And also that it ends up being more than a song about a bunny. The end.

(The writing-collaboration-thing is coming along in promising though as-yet undetermined fashion. In case you wonder.)

Meanwhile, here I am back in Pennsylvania in an over-hot apartment, writing lecture notes. And, damn, that paper I�m supposedly delivering on Friday at a conference in Syracuse NY is hanging over my head like a sword of Damocles. Or around my neck like an albatross. It is some kind of bad wardrobe accessory that I wish I didn�t have to wear, because it is too hot in here.

12:51 a.m. - March 13, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me