is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Boys Singing For Girls and Girls Singing For Boys. Dogs Blinding Dolphins.

Boys Singing For Girls and Girls Singing For Boys. Dogs Blinding Dolphins.

I tried to go shopping in Forever 21 the other day, because both Evany and Caroleen are currently all stocked up on cute cute t-shirts from there. But every time I go in that store I get an armful of stuff to try on and somewhere between the entry and the trying on I get so demoralized that I either don�t even wait to try the stuff on or I try it on and decide it is all crap and I am getting the hell out of there. (My sentiment at that moment is of course true, but even though the stuff I try on there is all crap, some of it is cute cheap useful crap that right now my torso could use, since I didn�t bring as many top-covering items as I need this summer.) Caroleen says she will go with me next time to be the wind beneath my wings. (No, those are not her words.)

ANYWAY, when I was at Forever 21, I heard the most confusing song! It was a cover by a boy band (Green-Day type boyband, not Backstreet-Boys type boyband) of Kate Bush�s Hounds of Love ! What?! And the weirdest part is that the boyband in question, at least as it sounded over the too-loud speakers at Forever 21, had the style of the kind of band that is always taking an ironic stance. YDKWIM. Except that the cover of Kate Bush�s song was done in all sincerity. So, yeah, it seemed that some snotty boy was singing, for instance, �I found a fox, caught by dogs/ he let me take him in my hands/ his little heart, it beat so fast/ and I'm ashamed of running away/ from nothing real, I just can't deal with this/ I feel ashamed to be there/ among your hounds of love/ and feel your arms surround me/ I've always been a coward/ and I don�t know what's good for me.� There I was, standing in Forever 21 with an armful of crap, frozen, thinking how strange it was that a quintessentially girl song actually made sense coming out of some boyband frontman�s mug. So I tried some crap on. And then I bought nothing.

Apparently the band is named The Futureheads, and they are from England, and might actually be an interesting band. I know nothing about it.

I can say, however, that their Hounds of Love cover is so much better (I just watched the video version on the www and it contains lots of cute doggies, too) than Gwen Stefani�s hand-me-a-gun-so-I-don�t-have-to-live-to-hear-this-again cover of my beloved Talk Talk / Mark Hollis�s song It�s My Life. Oy! Why did she decide to sing the whole damned thing in her nasal cavity? And then there�s the cover of Roxy Music�s More Than This by who knows what annoying female (haha, I just searched and it�s Norah Jones). I think I have heard all three of those songs while shopping in Forever 21. And maybe that�s the real reason why I can�t buy anything there.

In other news, Birdy the dog has a lot of her own stuffed animals, so I had been careful to keep Sheenykeeny hidden under the covers during the day, but one day, let�s just call it the day of the beast because it was 6/6/06, I came home and noticed that Sheeny was on top of the comforter near the foot of the bed. I picked her up and she was wet. DOG SLOBBERY. And one of her eyes was missing! Thing is, Birdy had somehow mangled her and then placed her on the bed with her good eye facing up so it looked like she was unmolested! Demonically clever, that Birdy. Anyway, I threw her (Sheeny, not Birdy) into the washer and dryer and she�s fine. I�m going to have Caroleen make her a pirate�s eyepatch with her (Caroleen�s, not Sheeny�s, nor Birdy�s) intrepid sewing skills. It�s not at all as bad as when Pip killed Buffy the Bison.

Saturday morning Marco and I drive to Los Angeles to watch Evany (Evany THOMAS) perform in a benefit for 826LA, hosted by ANDY RICHTER, who, as you know, was once sidekick to Conan O'Brien. Also, Andy Richter was allowed to have his own very funny situation comedy, full of politically incorrect jokes and jokes about Foucault, for about three minutes on Fox.

9:29 p.m. - June 08, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me