is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

HEY WEIRDO!

Today as I was walking home from teaching, I stopped by the duck pond to gaze at the ducks and geese. There was a family nearby (a human family), and I could tell they were all excited at the sight of the woodduck. He is looking particularly grand right now, with his fall feathers in place. His pointy head plumage is very pointy indeed, and his chest is all puffed up, and the feathers on his wings are curled at the end so they do add a little flourish to his already dandy-foppish appearance. I think this is a good time of year for ducks and geese.

Anyway, as I was sitting there watching them all, one of the kids ran over to where I was, because that's where the woodduck was, and she yelled, "HEY WEIRDO!", trying to get his attention.

You see, all that pathos I felt and described when I thought the woodduck was alone, it wasn't for nothing!

Next week, after I get back from NYC, I'll try to get some good photos of the woodduck and Lady Glycerol Ester of Wood Rosin for you.

Now I have to pack to go to New York. The biggest challenge: tomorrow I have to figure out what to wear to do all these things in one day:
Travel by train and subway.
Give a paper at the Sartre Society Meeting.
Have dinner with one of my dissertation advisors and other Berkeley ex-pats.
Go to a "Monsters and Sex" party full of tattoo artists.

It definitely puts the WHAT? back in What should I wear? No matter what choices I make, I'm bound to end up hearing HEY WEIRDO! somewhere.

12:18 a.m. - October 27, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me