is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Jean-Paul Blix. SC Johnson Wax.

Here�s Jean-Paul Blix (the pretentious cat), resting his cat-arm on Sartre�s War Diaries, looking as if he is filled with a worldly ennui. And why should he not be? Life is a struggle after all. A struggle between Jean-Paul Blix and me. Either he must transcend my transcendence, or I will transcend his. The problem is, he is a cat. Cats can�t really transcend their own facticity, let alone my freedom. They just can�t. Don�t tell him I said that, because he�ll bite me.

Jay Leno is deeply unfunny, but tonight Sarah Silverman was on, and she made me laugh very, very hard. And also Justin Timberlake was on, and he was cute and also fairly funny.

When Gayle and I were in a cab on the way to SPEP, the cabdriver ran a red light, and then the cab driver got pulled over by a police car! Gayle and I were stuck sitting in the back seat (with Evany, in a manner of speaking, because Evany was IMing me at the time) remarking on how odd it is to end up being pulled over by cops when you are in a taxicab. Evany said that it must be good luck in some culture, like how it is supposedly good luck to get shit on by bird, because the odds are steep, etc.

WHEN GAYLE WAS HERE SHE SAW THE WOODDUCK AND AGREED THAT HE IS HANDSOME. VERY HANDSOME INDEED. She also saw his demure lady woodduck.

That reminds me that one of my favorite random soft-drink ingredients (found in Squirt) is glycerol ester of wood rosin, which always seems to me to be the name of some titled English dame. Lady Glycerol Ester of Wood Rosin. So now that�s what I think the demure lady woodduck�s name is.

This month I�ve got an interview in The Believer with Alison Young. There's even a cute drawing of her on the cover (lower right side). My original set of descriptions for the interview was�

�An activity can have both aesthetic and criminal qualities.�
Interview with Alison Young
In this interview you will find:
dominant social institutions revealing their passions, their anxieties
people who do not like elephant dung
wigs (still worn in many jurisdictions)
that art is like law, law like art
something you might want to dislike
graffiti as crime, but also as art
that you are the judge, like it or not

As you can see if you click over to their online description of my interview, they changed it to something more normal. Apparently The Believer is getting a bit less quirky in its headline-writing. That�s OK. It means I don�t have to work so hard to come up with quirky headline material in the future. Being quirky can be exhausting when it doesn�t just happen naturally.

I�m going to be doing a podcast for the PBS/KQED program called Spark, wherein I�ll read/perform a comic story I wrote about a slogan I once found emblazoned in an IHop: "No one does breakfast like IHOP does breakfast. Or dinner." I think it�s some sort of philosophical slapstick. Comedy. This won�t happen until sometime in the year 2007. I�ll tell you all about it then, so you can tune in and hear my voice as it sounds when it is recorded and then played out. That will of course fill me with horror, but I�m working to overcome that particular form of terror, slowly.

So, perhaps you remember how summer-before-last I took to punctuating many of my sentences with a quickly intoned-under-my-breath �SC Johnson Wax,� the way many commercials end with statements of disclaimer or warning or mere reminder of who the boss company is? (SC Johnson Wax is the boss of many companies!)

Well, some dumbass subsidiary that gets bossed around by SC Johnson Wax has some new product out that proclaims that �it�s better with the spray.� Nay, �it�s better with the spraaaaay!� Some crazy lady is singing this in the background while a way-too-happy woman is cleaning her house with a bizarre contraption that seems to have a spray bottle attached to a feather duster? Anyway, at the end of the commercial, the same crazy lady (the singing one, not the cleaning one) sings �A family company!�

SC Johnson Wax (or whatever) is now A Family Company. Now that�s something worth singing about!

1:04 a.m. - October 26, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me