is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Post-Party Post.

Here�s me and Pigstar after I made breakfast this morning.

For breakfast we had egg-and-cheese-on-toast sandwiches, cupcakes, pepsi, coffee, and orange juice. The world felt much better on 4 hours of sleep after some food, sugar, and caffeine. Also, somehow my making breakfast ended up leaving me without any cleaning duties.

The party last night was fun. It was a party for Presidents� Day weekend, but the life-sized Abraham Lincoln didn�t arrive on time, so we made masks of various presidents. Halfway through the evening someone started using George W. Bush as a scoop for the pretzel bowl.

Evany bought an awesome Mt. Rushmore top from Built by Wendy and wore the shit out of it. I did manage to wear a blue dress with white trim and hot red heels, so that was quasi-patriotic-seeming, but nothing could really compete with Evany�s ma-chest-ic statement.

Lots of people had high hopes about singing some karaoke (the hopes weren�t mine, but the expectation-of-singing-fun was palpable) from a Presidential podium; however, even though Marco had successfully set up the system earlier in the day, and I had seen it work, it suddenly did not work at the party. Disappointment reigned for a brief while, but then everyone remembered that it was a party so they danced or drank or talked to people instead.

This morning I woke up and jumped in bed with Evany while Marco made coffee. Then the three of us laid around laughing about party things. For instance, apparently Marco told a girl in a full horse-head mask that she looked strangely hot. (She was supposed to be George Washington�s horse. Watch this video now.) He feared maybe his comment was inappropriate. I reassured him that at least it was true. I was laughing about how people kept coming up to Marco and offering helpful suggestions while he was trying to fix the karaoke machine, but all the suggestions boiled down to things he would already have tried twice. So at one point apparently Natalie walked up to him and said, �Isn�t there a switch on the back somewhere that says �work� and �broke�?�. Ha! My sister is funny. We spun that one out for awhile. My favorite variation (courtesy of Marco): whenever your car breaks down and you pull over and open the hood, what you are really looking for is a switch that says �run� or �broke� (given especially that you probably have NO IDEA how a car works anyway!). Evany also suggested that there should be a screen for that in your computer�s System Preferences.

Right now Evany has found on television a jump-roping competition? Which has us both feeling astounded and alarmed. There are groups of youngsters doing synchronized routines while jump-roping. ??? Sure, you might be thinking, Jill and Evany sat through 18 hours of Drum Corps competition, so why not this? Still, synchronized jump-roping is CRAZY.

[pause.]

OK. Now they�re doing weird gymnastics while jump-roping, crazy flips and rolls and such.

By the way, if you have any $$ to spare and think it's a good cause, you should totally sponsor my sister for her walk for brain tumor research. We have a good friend who survived having a brain tumor after much medical intervention and therapy. We think it�s a good cause.

I saw Pan�s Labyrinth again yesterday. I�ll definitely have to write something about it, once I finish thinking my way through it. However, allow me to warn you. It is a dark, dark story with some egregious violence. I think I enjoyed it more the second time for multiple reasons: knowing when the violence was coming meant I didn�t have to watch it; knowing when it was coming also rendered it less shocking so I could concentrate on other aspects of the story overshadowed by trauma on first viewing. You know I dislike and avoid movies that are too violent. However, the violence in this film serves a purpose and illustrates a point� even if it sometimes goes too far. I mention this only because I feel that I ought to warn anyone who might be compelled to see it by my enthusiasm for it. It is a dark story. More later.

On the lighter side, I was watching the Sara Silverman show one cozy night with Best Ever, and not only was it funny, but my BF Zach Galifianakis guest-starred, and the show featured a joke about my friend Adam Savage. The comedian Brian Posehn, who, like Adam, has short reddish hair and dark-rimmed nerd glasses (it�s a good look!) is about to get into a fight, and asks the person threatening him a question, and the guy says, �Shut up, Mythbuster!� and hits his boyfriend. I laughed really hard. Then I had to explain why it was funny.

And, finally, yesterday morning, as I was lounging in my sleeping bag on the couch, Evany was making cupcakes in the kitchen, listening to songs and singing. She listened to one of her favorite songs, Huey Lewis and Gwyneth Paltrow singing a duet of �Cruising Together,� from the accursed karaoke movie Duets, and I was chuckling to myself about how funny it is that she loves that song so much. So this morning I made joking reference to it, thinking Marco would agree with me, and, turns out, he totally loves that recording too! And not because of Evany. They both liked it independently of each other, before they met! Oh, what a house of love I�ve landed in.

Later today Evany and I are going to see Music & Lyrics because: romantic comedies are good for tired brain-dead days, and; my friend Adam (FoW Adam, not Mythbusters Adam) wrote all the songs for it.

1:10 p.m. - February 18, 2007

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me