is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Aging.

My new $39 glasses arrived today. That's right, I took advice offered to me in my comments section and bought some cheap eyeglasses online. They aren't quite as cute as my Gucci ones, and they are a little too wide for my head.... But, well, like I said, $39 and I can now read for more than 20 minutes without feeling like someone is trying to trepanate me. The Gucci glasses come in multiple sizes, including pixie-head. But they cost more than $39. The end.

Except that I now I am thinking this: I am still wearing sunglasses purchased for me many years ago. I can't remember what year it was... maybe eight years ago? Ten even? Richard, Evany, Paul, and I were shopping in the upper Haight around the time of my birthday (which, as you know, was YESTERDAY), and I tried on these fabulous wondrous sunglasses knowing full well I'd never buy them because they were pricey, when all of a sudden Richard's all, "why don't I buy you those for your birthday?" Not only is Richard generous, but I'm guessing he liked the way the glasses looked on me, and wanted to take charge of the moment (much like how once he figured out that he would not talk me out of wearing pajamas all day, he began to buy me cute pajamas. Problem solved.).

Why am I telling you this? Because I have lately realized that these sunglasses are no longer on-trend. They aren't huge and Hollywood. My sunglasses are retro-ish, and they were hiptastic when I bought them, meaning eight to ten years later they are out of date. And yet I still wear them with as much glee as ever.

Am I going to wear them forever? (Or have I already jinxed their longevity by speaking of them in this way? Will I lose them on the train tomorrow?) Similar question: will I still be wearing my numerous pairs of identical (save for the color) Fluevog boots when I'm 50, or 60? Is this my version of the old person who is dressed in the garb of a bygone era, seemingly unaware that the times, they have long since a-changed?

And if I am that person, will it matter? The questions remain unanswered.

Anyway, the sunglasses. You've seen them before, back when Chris wore them on the Late Night with Craig Ferguson show.

The photo is funny for at least two reasons. One: it looks fine at first but then if you look again it looks like Chris has huge googly cookie monster eyes on under my glasses. And you know how I feel about Rocking Cookie Monsters! Two: once you notice the googly-eye thing, it looks like Chris might be Sartre, if Sartre were more attractive, and young and alive, and a rockstar.

Speaking of which, I was conversing today with Chris about many things, when he took to grilling me about Gus. That is how I learned that Lloyd Cole has a cat named Gus. I found this interesting only because it was about Lloyd Cole, and a cat. But no, it does not mean that I am changing Gus' blogname to "Gus (MGNLCC)." I think we can keep things straight without the acronym.

10:44 p.m. - May 22, 2007
for reals - 2007-05-23 09:20:46
nice glasses! so glad you found some decent ones.
-------------------------------
Claverack Weekender - 2007-05-23 10:41:13
Darn, I missed your birthday. Perhaps we could have cake in Vermont??
-------------------------------

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me