is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Photos. Painting. Mother of Pearl.

On New Year's Eve, I took Gus out for a good meal at TWO (as I wrote earlier in January), then we went to Sunny's for a night of fun, friends, and champagne. Here's the best ever photo of me and Sunny.

And here's a cute one of Gus and I. We're both wearing tiaras.

A few days later, I organized everyone to show up at Caroleen's house to do some HOUSEPAINTING. Over the years, some lovely tenants had painted her walls some colors that were not the colors of Caroleen-living. So we changed all that, me, Marco, Evany, Liz, Sunny, Caroleen, and two dogs.

Here we are at the start of it all.

And here we are towards the end of the day.

I had ordered a mess of sodas, seltzer, beer, and sandwich and snack-fixings to be delivered by Safeway on time for the great RePaint to begin. But the Safeway crew messed things up and brought the beverages but instead of all my tasty foods brought a bunch of weird Kosher stuff. Luckily Liz called at just the right time to ask if we needed anything, and was able to stop and pick up some food. So we spent the day paint-paint-painting, with snack-breaks.

A Coke tastes really good while painting. And a beer tastes really good when you need a rest from painting. Also, Liz bought Ho-Ho's, something I never would have thought of.

It's amazing how much paint a person can get in her hair trying to paint a wall or a ceiling.

I spent most of the day painting the upper parts of walls, which left me with a big shoulder ache the next day, but since I spent that next day on my 12-hour misery plane-ride, it didn't really matter. (During the last leg of the two-leg turned four-leg flight, the flight attendant asked me if I wanted a beverage and I said, "I'd like some white wine, and I'm not going to pay for it," and she didn't object at all. Ha.)

Anyway, I'm just glad to have been able to contribute to some small part of the great re-painting project. Here's to my future moments of houseguesting and bbq-attending at house of Caroleen.

So, yeah, turns out one day is not enough time to paint a whole two bedroom house. But we did do two coats on most of the kitchen, and one coat on the walls and ceilings of the long front hallway and kitchen. Caroleen finished the bathroom. And that's not nothing. The place was looking much improved by the time we closed up shop.

I'm currently re-in-love-with Roxy Music's "Mother of Pearl." And of course Bryan Ferry in the early 1970s. And it's not just because he mentions Zarathustra in the song! Followed by two swift handclaps! Or because it starts out sounding like one kind of song and then changes into an entirely different kind of song! There are many, many reasons to love the song. Though I suppose one could argue that the song requires patience, much as would a lot of Roxy Music music that I love. So be it.

At brunch the other day I was talking about Bryan Ferry's brand of handsome and Linda mentioned that he has some hot sons. FYI. (Click on the Bryan Ferry link, then click on "view slideshow," and you'll see. I'll stick with Bryan, but you might like some younger Ferrys too.) My latest reason to love YouTube. One of my favorite songs to sing in the car is Roxy Music's Beauty Queen, from my favorite of their albums, For Your Pleasure. Couldn't find a video for that on YouTube, and that made me sad. I think that song, Beauty Queen, might be the best ever use of Bryan Ferry's voice.

11:56 p.m. - January 15, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me