is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Parents Who Deal Drugs, on TV.

I�ve now seen two episodes of a new show on AMC (yeah, AMC) called Breaking Bad. It�s about a high school chemistry teacher who, because he has terrible healthcare and is broke, doesn�t find out until way-too-late that he has lung cancer, and is faced with a pregnant wife, a developmentally disabled teenage son, impending death, and no money to leave them. So he decides to make some money cooking crystal meth. It�s everything I thought Weeds would be. Weeds ended up being about how people in suburbia sometimes have dark secrets, but even their dark secrets don�t end up being very interesting, or dark. It�s really light-hearted even when it isn�t.

I've only seen season one of Weeds. I'm not planning on pursuing it further.

But I do like Mary-Louise Parker.

Did I mention that the meth-cooking chemistry teacher is played by the guy who played the dad on Malcolm in the Middle, a show I never could appreciate, though I once happened to view an episode where said dad-playing actor did an aMAzing roller-disco dance in embarrassing dad-shorts. Since then I've always harbored an odd kind of respect for him. This latest role is kind of like that, but much darker. (My favorite snippet of dialogue so far� burnout guy: "Dude. Why did you tell your wife I sold you POT?!" Drug-Dealing-Dad: "Well, I thought it was preferable to telling her about the meth-cooking and the murder.")

I�m not sure yet if Breaking Bad is a good show, but it sure does pack a lot of developments into an hour-long episode. I know I�ll keep watching it at least for a couple more weeks, to see where it goes. Especially since I can�t watch The Wire except when I�m in Philly!

School starts tomorrow. Time for all that again. I think my classes will be fun to teach this semester, and I feel pretty ready for that part of it. But even when you like your job, it�s still, well, a lot of work, you know?

Marilyn was in town this weekend, and she and I had a nice time on Saturday, catching up, hanging out, doing a tiny bit of jewelry crafting, and then meeting Gus for a beer after his band practice. We sat around in plush chairs in the back room of Soda. And man, were we happy when we discovered, upon paying our tab, that we had been drinking our way through a half-price HAPPY HOUR. On a Saturday! Ah, New York. Then we finally got Linda to leave her house, to meet us for dinner at Flatbush Farm. That was fun, because the company was good, the food was good, and I had an excellent drink called the Ciconne Boom (sic). I like the drinks that go boom! (It was: Prosecco and Limoncello on the rocks. YUM.)

10:42 a.m. - January 28, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me