is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Food and Weather.

Hey. I just marked down the eight remaining items in my etsy shop by 30% to clear them out in anticipation of some new earrings and necklaces, and some handmade candies and such, coming soon. If you want what�s there, or if you want something similar, buy it now, or make me an offer. I want to shed this stock. I probably won�t be making any of the current models again.

It�s funny that I missed the heatwave last week, because it has (so far, besides the reported heatwave) been a remarkably un-hot summer. I keep going out at night expecting to encounter one of my favorite things about going out at night in New York in the summer�heat when it�s dark outside, something you don�t get in San Francisco�and I end up freezing because I don�t have a jacket. Strange! On Sunday when Wendy, Linda, Ruby and I had a lovely meal in the garden behind Flatbush Farm, freezing! On Saturday when Gus and I had a lovely meal at Bar 6 in Manhattan, freezing (and also, pouring rain). Tonight, on the way home from a nice meal with Erika at Spring Street Natural, freezing again.

OK, so it�s not really FREEZING. But it is cold enough to require a sweater or a jacket of some kind. So I haven�t been getting that hot-night quality of New York that I so love in NYC summers.

Of course, it's good that I haven't had to use the air conditioners much. It will make it easier to pay the bills, and I like it when I get my air without the help of machines. It's not that I want blistering heat, or those unbearable sweat-soaked days. Just some no-jacket evenings.

A funny thing about living in New York. When you�re at home watching TV, you�ll find an episode of Law & Order everywhere you look (just like everywhere else in the U.S.). But when you�re out in Manhattan, you�ll find an actor from Law & Order everywhere you look. I�ve seen Sam Waterston, Mariska Hargitay, Stephanie March, and B.D. Wong. I�m hoping to run into Richard Belzer and Ice T some time soon.

-------------
Now here�s something. Have you heard of truck balls? Mein gott! When I was out for dinner with Q and Catherine a couple of weeks ago, Q mentioned them. Apparently they are big in the south (um, literally). I had never heard of them, or seen them. I think it would have been fine if I had managed to live my whole life without hearing about them or seeing them. It�s too late for that now.

10:03 p.m. - June 18, 2008
keith - 2008-06-20 18:56:18
I want to see a Prius with truck balls. There has to be one out there somewhere!
-------------------------------

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me