is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

pools are good, 24-7. so are marshmallows.

I'm back from the conference in Puerto Rico. It seems that I left at precisely the right time, missing the heatwave that struck NYC. It was not at all cold in Puerto Rico, but it was hotter in New York. Go figure. Gus and I swam in the pool every day and every night. It was a 24-hour pool. The 24-hour pool made me wonder: 1) what kind of hotel insurance policy allows the pool to be open 24-7 with no lifeguard? and 2) why were there not more people in the pool at night?! Gus and I often found ourselves alone. And a pool at night, alone, is great, not only because you're in a pool at night, alone, but because the surface of the water is so calm that it makes the surrounding environs seem even more quiet than they already are. It gives you an overjoyed feeling, as if it were pure luck that you get to be in a pool at night, alone. And I suppose good fortune is just what it is.

In other news, the hand-made marshmallows are still good. Tonight I toasted some over the flame of my gas stove and that was delightful. I'm going to make some more tomorrow or the next day, to fill the remaining orders. In the meantime, I have a tiny job transcribing tapes for a local college, of interviews with students and professors. It's some money, which is good. But it's also a lot of typing, which means that, though I'd love to be doing some more of my own writing, including filling all of you blogreaders in on all the recent developments ChezCulpa, at least for today my brain has been erased and it's time for bed.

HOW ARE YOU?

ps-- that's a photo of me in my grandma's swimming pool, circa 1971.

11:53 p.m. - June 16, 2008
Texas Cuz - 2008-06-17 12:46:35
So cute--I wish I knew you as a child. Oh wait, I did!
-------------------------------

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me