is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

tragedy averted.

my regular haircutter, amy, just had a baby. that, plus how I waited until I had only a couple days until I left town before decisively deciding that I really needed to get a haircut because my hair was bordering on tragic, meant that I had to, for the first time since 1990 (when amy cut my hair from long to short), see a new haircutter! I tried to see jules at dekko, on recommendation from a couple of friends. but she's a star and doesn't take new clients (not that she'd have anything open on such short notice anyway). so the salon-guy recommended joni, who was trained by jules. and she had lots of great reviews on the internets, so I did it. and man does my hair look better.

she was great. she spent a bunch of time figuring out how my hair works and what I'm willing to do to style it, and what my plans are (to grow it longer). then she made some suggestions, which I accepted, and she basically just cut it to suit its current length/plight. I now have less straggly ends, and some sweeping long bangs to frame my face. she suggested that I stop wearing a defined side-part and let it be messier. and wear the bangs straighter than the rest. and it is ALL GOOD.

plus she used this strange miracle product called prive shining weightless volumizer (or something like that... it's in my suitcase rt now and I'm on a plane). it spurts out of the can in a mass of bubbles and then turns into a gel and then disappears. and it cuts down on my terrible friz problem while keeping curls defined without being too shirley-temple. you can also use it for straightening. it cost $26, which is ridiculous, but if it keeps its promises against new york humidity, I'm going to call it worth it.

it is amazing how much difference something small can make.

12:54 p.m. - August 23, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me