is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Update.

Still broke, almost all the time.

Still sad about David Foster Wallace.

Still in the midst of a glorious year of fellowship, not teaching, getting some writing done.

Hoping for freelance jobs to show up here and there.

The bills keep arriving.

Lately, I've been really into cooking. And I've sewn some stuff. Last night I made two new necklaces. And I've been trying to watch less television. (The productivity in various other areas is not unrelated.)

I found a great online frame store from which you can order all the parts and assemble them yourself, and it costs SO MUCH LESS than any frame shop you could ever imagine. It's called, wait for it, Frames by Mail. (Just click on metal frames and then follow the template directions.) All good. I framed, cute mat and all, the awesome 18x18 San Francisco print I got at the Curiosity Shoppe in San Francisco, for, I kid you not, less than $20.

A great find. But I can't really afford to frame the rest of the art that I would like to frame. (Eternal Return of the Same Lack of Cash. Or: Neverending Story Without Limahl.)

And so it is sad that I currently hate almost every shirt I own. Because I am not allowed to go buy new shirts.

Far worse things could befall a person.

I mentioned this: I am sewing some things. Some of them are for me. Others are for etsy... and maybe you? Coming soon.

11:37 p.m. - September 30, 2008
Becky - 2008-10-01 16:15:20
It's like your post was sent as a message from an alternative universe.. just before bed, I was going through my prints, thinking about how I was too poor to get them framed, and poking around the internet trying to find a good frame-it-yourself site. Then, as I was watching TV, I had a brief thought: "I watch too much TV". Big gratitude and empathetic good vibes being sent your way from Ventura! xoo Becky
-------------------------------
js - 2008-10-02 14:36:16
wow. coincidences like those are funny. let me know if you like what you get from frames by mail...!
-------------------------------

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me