is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Missin (there is no G).

This morning, clad in one of my two lovely Triple 5 Soul parkas (if you live in cold weather, GET ONE... and remember if you scout eBay you can probably get one for a lot less than full price), I took a bus 20 blocks or so and was transported from a neighborhood where I seem very pale to one where I seem very Christian. And I felt like much more of a stranger amongst the orthodox Jews than I do in my mostly Caribbean neighborhood.

I had to drop off a suitcase to get fixed. It's still under warranty so I had to take it where the company told me to take it. I felt like I should be explaining that to the people in the store, who stopped everything they were doing to stare at me when I first walked in.

After that errand I had planned to take the G, which I normally like to pretend doesn't exist, to the L, to the F, to work here at Herald Square. But, of course, the freaking G wasn't running. Because IT DOES NOT EXIST. So I walked to the Lorimer J and transferred to the F at Essex/Delancey. This is the kind of thing you can talk about for a long time in New York. Especially if it's the weekend and you live in Brooklyn. That's when the subways get special. But really. It's Wednesday. WHY IS THE G NOT RUNNING? I am not even going to bother checking the MTA website to find out. Because the G does not exist. Tonight when I have to get home from Marian's in Williambsburg, Brooklyn to my place in Crown-Prospect Heights, Brooklyn, I will take the L to Manhattan and transfer to the 4/5 to get home, rather than play the fool who believes in the Brooklyn-based G. No. I am Mr. T. (You know. I pity the fool.)

Right. Must get to work now. I've got a good four hours to get some writing done, and right now, I even have the will to do it.

2:12 p.m. - October 29, 2008

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me