is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

birthday girl.

I used to have a big birthday party for myself every year. I like my birthday, and I like parties, so why not?! It was easy to do in San Francisco, since my friends also liked parties, and I had lived there for such a long time that I had a large and diversely interesting group of friends, old and new, who would reliably attend a party. I�ve written before in this blog about how things are different in New York�I do have many friends here, but they are less reliably prone to showing up at things, because New York life just is that way, and because we haven�t built a culture of throwing parties and such. And perhaps also because I don�t fully live here, because I�m often in Philly with Gus. And maybe because we are aging, who knows.

Anyway, I am having a party tonight, but not a big party. First of all, it�s a holiday weekend, so lots of people are out of town. But I will have a fullish house, and that sounds like fun to me. Marilyn is in town, and I�ve gotten RSVPs from a good cross-section of people. I just made two cakes.

There have been some good birthday surprises this week, too. On Wednesday, the day before my birthday, I was cleaning house and thinking about how I wasn�t enjoying cleaning house, when the doorbell rang, and it was a UPS man with a box. That box contained gorgeous Fluevog shoes from my dad and Anne (Anne is my dad�s wife, which makes her my stepmom, but they got married when I was in my 20s, so she has never really played the role of stepmom and I just think of her as Anne, part of the family). Anyway, THAT was a surprise. Birthday surprise #1! My dad usually gets me something technological and/or practical, and I always appreciate it, because it�s usually something I couldn�t afford to buy myself. It is due to my father that I have a good stereo and a well-equipped kitchen, and so forth. And I enjoy those things every day. But this year: SHOES! And that is also a lovely gift for someone who loves shoes as much as I do.

Check them out! Cute multi-colored wood heel, slingback, awesome chain detail... like my feet are wearing a necklace, and are also kind of TOUGH, like they might beat you up if you don't watch out. Watch. Out.

Then on Thursday Gus showed up to take me out to dinner. And with him he brought a cute little blue bag from, wait for it, Tiffany and Co! OMG, right? I had shown him, about a year ago in Puerto Rico, that the famous architect had designed some beautiful jewelry� and it was all way too expensive for me to own, and so forth. And when I saw that little bag, I knew he could not possibly have bought me the double orchid drop earrings, which are exquisite but FAR TOO EXPENSIVE and I know he loves me but he is not out of his mind, and so forth, so WHAT COULD IT BE? And so on. I love that orchid collection so much. But come on. And my second favorite is the torque collection, and I had not even realized that there was something there that was within range of buying even if it�s still more than he should have spent on my birthday present! He got me the Torque pendant. It is very simple looking but, as the description on the page says, �there is an inner energy in this deceptively simple shape.� The picture on the site doesn�t really do it justice. When you first look at it, it looks like a simple square. Then you notice that it is partly rounded, then you notice that its inner edge is torqued partly in a direction different from its outer edge. And when you wear it, it constantly moves, so that sometimes it hangs as a square, other times as a diamond. It�s really beautiful. And it was really great of Gus to remember I wanted something like that, and then go buy it. So that is big surprise #2. Awesome.

Now I�ve got to take a shower, decide what to wear with my new shoes tonight, and figure out the lighting situation.

3:34 p.m. - May 23, 2009
sduckie - 2009-05-23 22:57:41
Happy Birthday!
-------------------------------

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me