is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

zombie make-up tips.

I am at a train station at 7:30 am, having gotten maybe an hour or two of sleep, and I'm waiting to take a train to a 9am meeting where I will meet a bunch of new colleagues for the first time. Yay!

Today's brand of unslept-zombie feeling is characterized by:

--nausea
--doing everything either too quickly or too slowly, sometimes both at once
--an oft-repeated semi-panicked feeling like I've forgotten something
--anger at innocents
--despair

If things go as they normally do, the anger and despair will subside in an hour or so, I'll get through the meetings just fine--no one will know the difference but me--and then the trip home in the afternoon will feel like slow punishment, something that should already have ended last week or something.

If you, like me, suffer from occasional sleeplessness, and are female, allow me to reveal to you the secrets of hiding the tiredness, all courtesy of benefit cosmetics. Step one, use either Lemon-Aid (plus a dab of eye cream) or You Rebel Lite on your eyelids and all around your eyes to mask red, pink and dark markings. Then do anything you might normally do, makeup wise. Then top it all off with That Gal. That Gal calls itself a makeup base, but I don't wear face-makeup and I use That Gal almost every day on top of my sunscreen. It has a miraculous capacity to give my aging face back some of that ineffable radiance that seemed to be there naturally ten years ago no matter what I did.

That's it.

I've actually been sleeping fairly well lately. Last night's lapse (or failure to lapse) was influenced by two factors: 1) two glasses of wine at a bar that pours very large glasses of wine. (I should have noted that and stopped at one, knowing that I had to wake up early, but Gus and I were out having fun.) 2) Gus' tendency to have restless leg syndrome in his sleep. It doesn't happen all the time. But when it happens it sucks. You can't block it out with earplugs, you know?

So, yeah, today's gonna suck a little. Hopefully I'll get a nap in before I go to a friend's birthday party later....

8:18 a.m. - August 21, 2009

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me