is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

use it or lose it.

Often when I reveal to someone new that as an undergraduate I studied Greek and Latin, I'll get this response: "It is such a waste that you have that knowledge and never use it!"

Ahem. I use it all the time.

(By which I mean: in what world is that knowledge so arcane that the only way to "use" it is to become a professional classicist?)

However, my main retort would be: It would also be a waste, for me, if I were spending my life ensconced in ancient texts. I don't regret the years I spent there. And I respect anyone who has chosen that as a life's study. But I made the choices I made because I wasn't meant to stay there.

9:29 p.m. - November 24, 2009

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me