is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

switch to on.

Upon arriving at the San Francisco International Airport on Wednesday (Thanks, Marco and Desi, for driving me there and dropping me off curbside!), I made my way to the ladies restroom to, well, rest before getting into the security line. While I was in there, this announcement was broadcast through the speakers in the ceiling above me:

"This is a loading and unloading zone only. Please move your vehicle to avoid being cited."

I am not joking. Literally. I am going to leave the various jokes that follow from that announcement untold.

Except maybe: it made me wonder whether people dropping off passengers outside the terminal were being asked not to flush foreign objects. That could lead to an INTERNATIONAL INCIDENT.

Speaking of public announcement mysteries, has anyone noticed how, over and over again, before every stop made on its endless airport loop, the AirBART train recording instructs passengers to "Please Hold On. Please Switch Luggage Cart Brake To On."?

To on? A computerized announcer somewhere needs to get herself into the restroom to unload unnecessary prepositional baggage.

9:49 p.m. - October 16, 2010

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me