is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Month Of Fluevog.

Here's my whole month of Fluevogs on one page! Click right here!

It was a lot of fun taking all the photos, and also seeing them appear on the blog, not knowing which photo would be published on any given day. I kept waiting for the day to arrive when I was wearing the shoes that appeared in that day's photo, but that bit of coinkidink never happened.

Taking the photos, dealing with the Fluevogers, and watching them appear on the Flueblog put me in touch with some of my control-freakiness in a funny way. After the first few photos my Fluevog-rep guy wrote to say the photos were great but maybe I could show more of my outfit... I had been focusing on getting all the shoe detail in there, missing the larger point of the EverydayFluevog feature. So I retook some photos. And in doing so I instated a very rigorous photo-labeling system so that it would be clear which photo was of what shoe in what color. And I described that system to my Fluevog rep. And he probably thought I was slightly crazy, which maybe I am, but yet it is a kind of crazy that one needs to possess if one is going to successfully communicate data about 31 photos. Anyway... then he didn't use most of the new photos, and he called some of the shoes by the wrong name, and he sometimes got the color wrong, and he even published two versions of the same shoe!

That is a small complaint. It adds up to this: They called my Blue Ceces gray, and then didn't publish the photo of the actual gray ones. They showed my Qtees twice (one was in conjunction with a pair of Gus's shoes), so that only 29 of the 31 photos appeared. They called my Skipropes Marian. They called my Tiffs Mickey. It just struck me as funny because of all the work I did making sure I had the names right, and also, it is their shoe company. But again, not really a complaint. It was all very fun and exciting. If you don't love shoes and John Fluevog like I do, I doubt you can understand just how fun and exciting it was. Ha.

The best part was how, every time there was a shoe-labeling discrepancy on the blog, a bunch of Facebook commenters would point it out... showing that John Fluevog tends to attract fans who are DETAIL-ORIENTED aka obsessed.

In general, everyone working for the Fluevog universe whom I've ever talked to or contacted in any way has been the most awesome, helpful, funny... you get it. If I'm going to be giving so much of my money to a company, I'm glad they employ good people.

(Also: Many of these shoes have been purchased on sale, on eBay, or back in the day when Fluevog shoes were in a better price range. I've talked to some of the Fluevogers about the price problem. It's because they don't use slave labor and costs have increased. So I'm happy about that, but sad that there are so many lovely shoes that I will never own because of it, because they are beyond the price range my conscience and bank account will allow.)

The best part: They sent me a gift certificate for $250 for doing it! I knew a gift was involved, but I figured it would be something much smaller, like a key chain or something. So that was awesome.... and it got me these beauties.

Here are the three photos that didn't make it to the FlueBlog:

A better photo of the blue Ceces, with the high sole.

The grey Ceces with the high sole.

Blue and green hi-faith vanny, with the awesome heart-shaped heel.

12:36 p.m. - December 06, 2010

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me