is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

San Francisco. Social Activity.

San Francisco. Social Activity.

I'm in San Francisco. Got here Wednesday night, after the longest travel day ever. Never again will I think flying out of Boston is a good idea. Unless I happen to be IN BOSTON. It's great when your terrible days cannot be construed to be anyone's fault except your own.

But now I'm in San Francisco! Being in San Francisco has reminded me that I'm still really angry at Dumbass. I guess being where all the action took place has jarred my memory. This, too, will pass.

San Francisco! It is good to have a social calendar. Amherst is lovely, quiet and peaceful, but, well, you read the diary. Not much social action. Thursday night I went to see Evany's friend Marco's bandmate's solo act at the Starry Plough in Berkeley. THE STARRY PLOUGH. I am fairly certain I had not set foot in that place since some time in the 1980s. It is exactly the same.

Friday I went to see hot hot Caroleen play a solo show opening for AC/DShe and Girlschool. She put on a great great show. Oh Caroleen! But what a strange lineup, really, what with the hot songstress action opening for the hard rocking lady guitaresses.

Tonight is the cocktail party. I watched the party scene from Breakfast at Tiffany's last night three times to get ready. On the invite I had suggested that anyone wondering what to wear should watch that scene and then dress like an extra for that scene would dress. I am wearing a gold lame skirt and black velvet top, with some long gloves and my grandma's sparkly black pointy-toe stilettos. Unless my feet hurt in which case I will switch to the foxy but also comfortable fornarina black heels.

So I baked some stuff, and bought some liquor. Today I have to wash all the martini glasses (they have gathered some dust in my absence) and make the apartment party-ready.

This morning I had breakfast with Evany, then we walked around the mission. While doing this we saw Michael Franti (of the Beatnigs, the Disposable Heroes of Hiphoprisy, and Spearhead), who is still hot. HOTTTT. In all caps and with many extra Ts. Evany was upset with me for not telling her until after we passed him that it was him. I had just assumed that her hottometer would have picked up his signal.

Also, I just had the best idea for my yearly holiday party. I am going to have a Superhero Christmas party! You are going to come dressed like a Superhero would dress for a holiday party! And Colleen and I are going to set up a photo area with a fan to blow your cape up in the air so that it looks as if you are flying! (Photo idea stolen from the Superhero store in Brooklyn, but that's Ok. That is what good ideas are for� they are for USING.) Start getting ready. Now.

2:01 p.m. - November 20, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me