is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thyroid Blix.

I know some of you are worried about Hans Blix (TCNTUNWI). Well, we got the news today. Blix has a very serious thyroid problem. Apparently it is off the charts (or off the hook or BANANAS). The good news is that I've started giving him pills for it and he is eating a lot more already, and he's back to playing with toy mice and becoming randomly angry at me, just like old times.

The doctor says that he has to take a pill every day for the rest of his life unless I get him radiation treatments or surgery, because he has a tumor on his thyroid. He's only seven years old. And he is not very happy about swallowing pills. He makes terribly frightening noises like he might kill me if he were my size. And he will sit there for a very long time without swallowing, or he'll fake-swallow, and then skulk off and spit the semi-dissolved pill out on the rug.

I'm sure that over time I can beat him down so that he'll accept the pill as part of the daily routine. But what will I do when I leave town? Do I dare ask other people to give him pills? Am I bringing him back to San Francisco for the holiday vacation in December? What's going to happen?

On the other hand, surgery? It seems cruel to make a cat go through surgery. I guess the radiation (which happens in the form of pills, and isn't as terrible as radiation treatment is for humans, from what I've heard) might be a good option, but both the radiation and the surgery cost thousands of dollars, whereas the pills cost about $100 a year (depending on what dosage he ends up on).

In any case, for now, he's taking pills.

Dallas was fun. I'll write more later. For now all you need to know is that I spent much of yesterday inside a grounded aircraft in Chicago. Things did not go at all according to plan.

11:37 p.m. - November 14, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me