is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hans Blix is Bringing Fluffy Back.

Sometimes I like to press the "random entry" button of my own webdiary and see what comes up. I just did that, and this came up. It's particularly apt, as I am currently trying to decide whether I go to NYC this weekend to attend this year's version of the party described in said random entry, or stay here, get more work done, and attend a local party. Though I always love Trip's parties, I am currently leaning toward staying here, because I am still exhausted from last weekend's job-interview odyssey, and I also have a number of holiday gifts that still need to be fabricated by me, each of which takes at least an hour to make. And then there's the whole semester-has-not-ended-and-I'm-still-teaching-though-I'd-like-to-deny-that thing.

I've decided to have my own holiday party the following weekend, before I depart for California. I doubt we'll get a human pyramid, but maybe we'll be able to dim the lights enough to allow the rug-cutting enthusiasts to start slicing.

Man. Ever since returning from the job interview I have wanted to do NOTHING. In other words, I don't want to do ANYTHING. Except whatever I want to do. By which I mean: I don't feel like working. On Sunday I spent a number of hours sitting on the couch in utter existential (and physical) indolence, denying my own existence and refusing to take on the slightest task. I really wanted to be sewing or making jewelry, but since I had gotten no work done, I couldn't begin that, so I sat there. I even began talking to myself, out loud (Hans Blix (TCNTUNWI) was not in the room), about how I should just DO something already, but nothing, nothing would get me to working.

I did get around to prepping my class late Sunday night. That allowed me to spend most of Monday at Target in Conshohocken getting much-needed supplies, and a few things I didn't really need, like a cayoooot satin jackety thing.

Luckily, Gus came and got me in his car and took me to a bar this evening, so I could drink some bourbon in the cold cold night with some good company. We talked about many, many things. But we live in the suburbs so the bar started closing down at an alarmingly early hour, so I ended up back home just in time to see Justin Timberlake perform on that spectacle of a television program called "Victoria's Secret Fashion Show." What?! What was that?

Answer: it was nothing, my dear. Nothing.

Or: it was the ABYSS! the VOID!

That's right. The abyss wears quoteunquote sexy underwear. Somewhere my dear friend Evany is making a joke that is not intended for all audiences.

However, the second time I pressed random entry, this one showed up. Even though it was written at a lowpoint, it cheered me up. It's strange how past Jill sometimes reminds present Jill of things that she sometimes forgets. The night after I wrote that entry was the first time I saw Spirited Away (still in the hotel in Syracuse), something you should do soon (the watching, not the Syracuse-visiting), if you haven't yet. Here's me with my dragon boyfriend who is sometimes a cute boy and also secretly a river who saved me from drowning as a child.

12:28 a.m. - December 06, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me