is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

March 27, on which I say something that I don�t usually say about another woman.

I�ve been meaning to tell this funny little story for some time now, in which I call a bitch a bitch. A few months ago I was getting on a train from New York to Trenton (where I would transfer to a train to Philly), and the train was crowded. I was already seated in an aisle seat, there was a man seated at the window, and there was an empty seat between us. A striking woman asked if she could have that seat, so I stood up to let her in. Then a rude woman behind her started moving forward. But she moved forward in such a way that she (rude woman), striking-woman and I were caught in a tight triangle out of which none of us could move. So I said, politely, to rude-woman, "if you would back up for just a moment I could let her in and then we�d be out of your way.� Rude woman pushed a bit more forward. I said, �Really, if you just back up for a minute, we�ll all be able to stop holding up everyone behind you.� She pushed her way all the way through roughly, making striking-woman and I stumble a bit. I looked at striking-woman and shrugged, and let her in.

Striking-woman took her seat. I sat back down and while I was getting into my seat the sleeve of my coat hit her thigh. I pulled it out of her way. And then she looked at me and said, �YOU�RE RUDE.� I was incredulous. Sure, crowded New Jersey Transit trains are no fun, but how could I possibly be the villain in this story? So I said, �But� I just stood up to let you in and then went out of my way to help you with that woman! How am I rude?!� Her witty reply was, �DON�T TALK TO ME.� By now, with all the accumulating rudeness, I was about to lose it. I said, �You are inexcusably rude.� She's all: �I told you not to talk to me.� My smart reply was: �Don�t tell me what to do.� She said, �YOU do NOT talk to ME.� She said it like she was the Holy Roman Emperor. I paused, still shocked. After a moment I said:

�You are actively making the world a worse place to live in.�

That is really what I said. She had nothing to say, finally.

Then I looked down and returned to grading papers.

Anyway, a few months later, I was watching America�s Next Top Model on television, and no, I�m not even sure why I was doing that, but there was a woman on the show and I thought to myself, �Mein Gott! That is that freak-ass rude woman from the train!� I was pretty damn sure it was her. The way she acts on the show isn�t too far from how she acted on the train, either.

But I also know, from teaching judicial ethics, how untrustworthy eyewitness identifications are, so I was ready to admit that maybe it wasn�t really her.

And then! I found out that this particular candidate for ANTM is or at least was a BRYN MAWR student. And the train we were on together is precisely the train one would take from New York to get to Bryn Mawr.

And also�just look at her. You don�t forget sitting next to someone who approaches the exotic beauty of Iman, right? When I sat near her she still had the bad hair she had at the beginning of the season, before Tyra intervened and fixed that mess.

My assessment: crazy bitch.

One more thing: Am I the only one who is mystified by the way they've handled the cliterodectomy issue so far this season? This woman was subjected to genital mutilation without anesthesia as a child! The show has been really superficial about this to the point of disrespect. Sure, it's a difficult topic. But that means the show has a responsibility to handle it well. HA! We're talking about America's Next Top Model.

Knowing a couple facts of this woman's life (apparently she also had family members murdered... it's not a happy story), perhaps I should back up and be more understanding. Her unattractive combining of high-and-mighty with quick-to-judge-badly might be a result of a traumatic and unstable childhood, and thus we should be patient with her. But in this instance I think I tend to agree with Kant: when you treat someone as if she could not be responsible for her own actions, you fail to recognize her humanity on some level. It is fair to judge her for how she treats other people (and here I don't mean how she treated me�whatev�but how she treats her fellow contestants on the inane top model contest show).

That�s my little story for the day: I'm pretty sure I sat next to beautiful bitchy Fatima on the train from New York to Trenton, and I told her she was actively making the world a worse place to live. In her mind she banished me from her empire, I'm certain. But she has no power over me at all. The end.

10:33 p.m. - March 27, 2008
Pischina - 2008-03-27 23:06:50
Hello. I just randomly came to your diary from the Diaryland box and happily stumbled upon this wonderful entry about Fatima. Bitch! :-D Now I have to read some of your back entries. Have a lovely day!
-------------------------------

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me