is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Old School Diary Entry about What I Did This Weekend.

It�s summer in New York. Not spring, summer. We skipped right over spring, which is too bad, since spring is the best season New York has to offer. Yesterday and today it has been 90 degrees and sweaty, and three days ago it was sad rainy freezing. Gus wondered aloud whether this was a sign that it would be a really rough summer in New York, heat-wise. Ugh.

But I suppose one can�t predict what the weather will be like anymore. It might snow next week, or turn springlike. Climate is not what it used to be.

Anyway, Gus and I took advantage of the lovely sun to go over to Williamsburg, to meet up with Marian, Patrick and Linda for brunch at Marian�s fancy condo. Here�s her fancy view.

And here�s one shot of her fancy apartment.

We had popovers, fruit salad, scrambled eggs with guacamole, lots of bacon for everyone except me, and we ate the rest of the cathedral bundt from last Sunday. Then we sat around talking about stuff and people�a good relaxing afternoon. I took some photos� here�s what happened when I tried to photograph Patrick and he insisted that he should photograph me.

And here�s the cute photo he took of Gus and me.

Today we have the air conditioning on and have already decided to go out for food later so we don�t have to turn the stove on for cooking.

In other news, on Friday I gave a paper at a political science conference in New York. On my way to the panel I walked into the Time Warner center to get a Jamba Juice because I forgot to leave time for lunch, and encountered a group of high schoolers on a field trip. They were scattered in clique-groups around the lobby. As I was making my way through them their teacher blew a whistle, and they all started moving toward her. Like zombies. The whistle activated their movement mechanisms and they just started closing in on me. I am serious. It was like I was invisible. They moved closer and closer to the teacher, trapping me in their number, stepping on my feet, as if I didn�t exist. I finally had to say, �excuse me, but you have to let me get through here.� I got a rolled-eye from a saucy teen girl. Because, as you well know, there is nothing more unreasonable than a middle-aged woman trying to walk through a group of teenagers in public space. As if!

It was scary.

Then I gave my paper. And then I drank beer with a bunch of Canadian strangers who like to talk about Nietzsche. In sum: the conference I had been dreading ended up being fun.

I was going to bake a new cake today, but turning on the oven seems like a bad idea. However, I have fixed the food and shoe blogs so that anyone can make comments on them now.

1:03 p.m. - April 26, 2009
M - 2009-04-29 21:20:53
Ha! Try having your office in a High School and accidentally being in the hall when the BELL rings. Scary on a daily basis lurks on the other side of my office wall.
-------------------------------

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me