is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

shower power and cake overload.

On Saturday I decorated a tree with baby bottles and rattles, Caroleen cooked up a storm, Liz made some crazy Rum-bilical Cord Punch, and then Liz, Caroleen and I had a big combination baby shower and BBQ for Evany, Marco and their baby-to-be. Lots of people came, lots of food was eaten including some huge burgers, yummy salads and one metric ton of cake, and lots of cute gifts were given. (Liz even wrote a blog entry about all the cake. I feel compelled to point out that the chocolate cupcakes she attributes to Caroleen were actually the amazing Chocolate Bouchons I made last week.)

And there were lots of great gifts. I was really happy with the tiny adidas track suit I bought for superbaby, but I have to admit that the onesies that Erin special-ordered for the notorious next big tiny were pretty awesome, adorned as they were with various photos of Evany and Marco from different times, including Marco�s bighair rockdays.

One of my favorite funny moments was when Evany and Marco first arrived and Evany said, �doesn�t Marco look like an irresponsible dad today?�, not because she was actually worried that Marco will be an irresponsible dad, but because he did have on a funny kind of all-black outfit that did vaguely resemble someone�s idea of a guy who isn�t paying much attention to his kids. So Marco�s all �what! Why?!� and so on and Evany said something like, �well, you�ve got the super smooth slicked back hair, the guido jacket, the tight black tshirt and that flashy watch.� And Marco�s like �but I thought a WATCH was a sign of responsibility, like you know how to get places on time!� Touche, and a good point. At which point Liz Dunn quipped: �Yes, but that FLASHY watch looks like the watch worn by the guy who says to a girl at a bar, �What time is it? TIME TO TAKE YOU HOME��� Ha.

It was also really funny when, during the gift-opening phase of the day, as Marco was opening and reading cards and I was writing down who-gifted-what so it could all be easily remembered, Marco said, "this one is from Hugo and Cheryle." No one knew who Hugo and Cheryle were. We looked around. Hugo and Cheryle weren't there. Then I looked at the card and realized it said "Hugs, Cheryle," and was from MY MOM, who also wasn't there but who had sent a gift along with my sister and her family. We're all really excited about my mom's new BF Hugo. And so is she, now that she knows about him.

My least favorite and very unfunny moment was when there was a crazy dogfight in the backyard and Evany tried to stop it and got bit. Not a serious bite, but an actual bleeding dogbight, and the dogfight was serious and scary. Luckily Scott, who works with dogs every day, was there to break it up. But I was slightly pissed even before that for the number of dogs who were there who had no connection to the party (which is not a long story but also one not worth telling) so the dogfightevent pushed me a bit past my I-am-in-control-of-my-temper point. And then I recovered. But really, a huge party full of adults and kids and a few dogs, and you bring MORE DOGS? Liz and I decided to leave our dogs at home for precisely the reason that it was a GOOD IDEA to do so. And that is all I will say.

But that was a small wrinkle in an otherwise really great day� the day was so fun that lots of people stayed way past the official ending time of the party without even realizing it, and I was shocked when I looked up at one point and realized it was almost 9pm! Luckily by then I had done lots of cleaning, so I was able to jump right in the car and get home to take lonely Huxley for a pleasant dusk-time walk. Then he and I settled in on the couch and watched the shit out of some TV after we talked to Gus for awhile. A very nice Saturday.

The next morning I woke up with a huge headache which I can only guess must have been a cakeover, since it couldn't have been a hangover. I think I had 1.5 glasses of wine at around 2pm on Saturday, and I don't think that translates into alcohol headache the next morning. I was happy to find some Excedrin in Julia and Adam's bathroom. I popped some of that, it did the trick, and then I drove to downtown Walnut Creek, scene of much of my high school discontent*. But now I'm all grown up and ready to go shopping with my mom as part of our official yearly Jill�s-Birthday event. We had a nice lunch at the Nordstrom Bistro and then wandered around looking at stuff. I found a super cute dress for a really good price, and she bought it for me. Then we had some San Pelligrino and sat in the shade in the perfect weather for awhile. And then I drove to Oakland to hang out with Evany while she did some packing for their move. She also showed me lots of clips of that guy who should have won American Idol but didn�t. And we watched some So You Think You Can Dance, and ate leftover salads and cupcakes from the shower.

Then I returned home and had an early evening walk with Huxley, made a sandwich, watched some TV, talked to Gus, and went to bed. And now it�s Monday and time to GET TO WORK ALREADY.

*I keep meaning to write a little webdiary entry about how and why I finally got past being bitter about high school. It will probably appear sooner or later, as it writes itself in my head. I also, when I was in LA to see the Conan show, had dinner with two people from my high school whom I hadn't seen since the mid-1980s, and that was awesome, and also fun to tell them my little story about the strange combination of factors that contributed to my graduation from bitterness. But anyway, today: GET TO WORK ALREADY.

12:07 p.m. - June 15, 2009

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me