is the word 'diary' better than the word 'blog'? probably not.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

On our way to sacrifice a goat.

It's commencement time here in college-land. All the seniors are excited. Everyone else is stressed out. Finals end today for the non-seniors. Professors are swamped with grading and all the other crazy meetings that for some reason also have to happen during the last week of finals. And I forgot to order my "regalia" to wear in the commencement march. So I'll watch instead. (In truth I would prefer to do it this way always. I hate the whole regalia thing. It always makes me feel like I'm part of some weird secret society, marching on our way to sacrifice a goat.)

Anyway, Gus suggested that instead of the traditional regalia, I could just wear a garbage bag. I added that I could then wear a pizza box on top of my head to simulate a mortarboard. He suggested that that might even pass as the traditional regalia for UC Berkeley. (Heh. Ugh.) Then he asked whether the pizza box should be small or large. I suggested that my pizza box should be small, but that his should be large, because he is a bigger egghead than I am. And then he said: "Hmm. [long pause characteristic of gus-speak.] Is there any bigger egghead than a philosopher?"

Tushy. (Stands in here for Touch�.)

I am thinking, now that I have a normal job that I intended to stick with, that perhaps I should just buy the UC Berkeley regalia. It costs something like FOUR HUNDRED DOLLARS. But I guess, over time, that would add up to a savings when I don't have to rent the gear every year.

Also, next Friday is my birthday. But Gus is out of town giving a paper at a conference. And my New York friends are So That Way that none of them has been able to commit to spending my birthday with me. When I put it that way, it makes them sound like horrible people. But they're not. It's hard to make it make sense in writing.... Linda was trying to figure out when she was leaving town for Costa Rica. Marian might be in California with her family. Patrick is Patrick and Bill is Bill and so on and so on. This is why I never felt like a New Yorker. I just need to have a couple of friends who can say, a week or two in advance, that they are willing to set aside one freaking evening for my birthday. You know? But one can't have that from this particular group of people whom I nonetheless love and know that they love me too. This is Jill as an adult accepting what New York City does to people.

So I might be spending my birthday in New York with some friends. I know for a fact that I'll be seeing my cousin, at some point, time to be arranged. Perhaps even on my birthday! And I'll see Trip for lunch on Saturday, then head back to Philly to meet Gus later.

I thought about flying somewhere else to see another friend or friends. But I really don't have the extra money to do that right now.

Maybe I'm old enough to say it's fine if my birthday is actually on May 22 or 23rd this year, when Gus is around to be my friend.

I just bought my ticket to spend 3 weeks in San Francisco in July (part of the reason I don't have extra money right now).

There is nothing terrible about any of this.

10:48 a.m. - May 14, 2010
Sarah - 2010-05-14 19:19:40
Happy (early) Birthday! Glad to see you back writing here.
-------------------------------

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

the latest

older than the latest

random entry

get your own

write to me